World Sweeper street and parking area sweeping information

Awards of Excellence in Power Sweeping

Awards of Excellence in Sweeping

We appreciate any suggestions you might have for this section.

Send Suggestions

Click on the graphic above for an email window.


Award of Excellence

As the founder and editor of American Sweeper magazine, in 1995 our editor, Ranger Kidwell-Ross, began the tradition of recognizing outstanding individuals in the sweeping industry. Through the intervening years the honor, called the Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping, has become the top distinction in the world of power sweeping.

The Award qualifications, which include more than just success in the sweeping industry, encompass time devoted to building professionalism in the industry and in assisting others involved in sweeping. In 2005, American Sweeper magazine transitioned into this website, which resumed this tradition.

This is the place on the expansive WorldSweeper website where you may read about the current recipient of this special Award, as well as information about other winners in past years. Starting with the 2014 presentation, the Award has also been co-sponsored by the World Sweeping Association.

Green Line Sweeper Separator

Pete Phillips and the company he owns, Clean Sweep, Inc., are the Winner of the 2017
Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping

Ranger Kidwell-Ross and Pete Phillips

At the National Pavement Exposition, held in Nashville in February of 2017, the Sweeping Association Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping was awarded to Pete Phillips, who was on hand to accept the Award.

Presentation of the 2017
Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping


The wording of the actual presentation by Ranger Kidwell-Ross at the 2016 NPE Sweepers' Roundtable are shown below. This includes an overview of how Dyck got his start and the impact he has had on the power sweeping industry for which he won this year's WorldSweeper/World Sweeping Association Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping. We also offer a more complete profile of the MASCO organization at this link.

Today's presentation of the World Sweeper / World Sweeping Association Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping continues a tradition I began in 1995. This was spurred because I had won, the previous year, a national APEX Award for Publication Excellence for my American Sweeper magazine. This motivated me to start a similar award for the power sweeping industry. Through the intervening years the Award has been received by a notable 'Who's Who' list of dedicated, involved companies and individuals in the power sweeping industry.

This year's Award winner is a sweeping contractor that still has many of the customers it first obtained when it started out in the mid 1980s. In addition to running a successful sweeping operation, the owner of the company has long been involved with helping others and promoting a greater level of professionalism throughout the industry. He also has built his company around becoming educated on the many environmental, as well as other, benefits of power sweeping. He also emphasizes and teaches safety to his employees and preaches it to other sweeping contractors.

As part of its involvement, the firm is a member of the Building Owners and Managers Association, their local Chambers of Commerce and the International Council of Shopping Centers. They are a member of 1-800-SWEEPER and a Founding Member of the World Sweeping Association. The company is also a member of the North American Power Sweeping Association, where in 2006 they became the first NAPSA-Certified Sweeping Contractor in their state.

The owner of the company is not just a member of these associations but is actively involved in them. For example, the owner is the incoming president of NAPSA.

With that, I'm proud to announce that the / World Sweeping Association winner of the 2017 United States Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping is Pete Phillips and his company, Clean Sweep, Inc.

Green Line Sweeper Separator

For more information about Clean Sweep Inc., we invite you to visit the company's website, which is located at The company's phone number is 423-877-9192 and you may contact them via email sent to

We also offer more complete information about Pete Phillips and his Clean Sweep organization at this link.

Green Line Sweeper Separator

Some Previous Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping Winners

Winner for 2016, Larry Dyck, founder of MASCO Sweepers.

Winner for 2015, Les Huliscko, founder of SweepRite Sweepers.

Winner for 2010, Allan Heydorn, editor of PAVEMENT Maintenance & Reconstruction Magazine.

Winner for 2009, South Carolina-based Dale McCaskill and his company, Southco Sweeping.

Winner for 2008, Seattle-based Davidson-Macri Sweeping and SweeperMarket Magazine.

First Award Winner, Gabriel Vitale, owner of C and L Sweeping in New Jersey.

Winner for 2006, Gale Holsman, owner of American Sweeping, Inc. in Kansas City, Missouri.

Eugene Hansen, the founder of Minnesota-based Clean Sweep, Inc.

Mark Carter, co-owner of Los Angeles-based Bill's Sweeping.

Bob Schwarze, founder of Schwarze Industries, Inc., and his son, Mark, were the winners for 2002.

Winner for 2014, NiteHawk Sweepers

Winner for 2013, Karl Stauty and his company, Commercial Power Sweeping, Inc.

Winner for 2012, John "Johnny D" Dubbioso. John's companies include NE-based Tri-State Industrial Maintenance, Three-D Equipment Rebuilding and several others. He was also one of the inventors of the Broom Bear sweeper, which was sold to Elgin.

Winner for 2011, Ray Confer of Michigan-based C & J Sweeping, Inc.

In 2007, the Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping was awarded to the B.W. Young family and the company he founded, The Young Manufacturing Company -- better known in the sweeping industry as the TYMCO sweeper company.

Tom Ostuni is a man who in 1966 looked at an industry in its infancy and saw its potential. He took a single sweeper and a single account and turned it into a full-scale success, helping many others along the way.

Story Ideas? Design Team Info

Fundamentals of the Power Sweeping Business

World Sweeper Logo

© 2005 - 2017 World Sweeper
All rights reserved.

Site Map / Table of Contents